jump to navigation

Installing a named instance of SQL Server 2012 July 14, 2012

Posted by fofo in Sql Server, SQL Server 2012.
Tags:
trackback

In this post I will demonstrate how to install SQL Server 2012 in your machine.

I had no intention of writing such a post but I installed SQL Server 2012 Developer edition a few weeks back in my Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 laptop and it worked just fine.Then I thought it would be a good idea to write a post like that since a lot of people install the latest version of SQL Server.

Developer edition of SQL Server 2012 can be installed in a client operating system.

Enterprise edition can only be installed in server operating systems.You can download the Enterprise edition from this link.

If you are a MSDN subscriber (or you have purchased a valid license) you can still follow the steps below.

Before you download the Enterprise edition of SQL Server 2012 make sure you have read the Hardware and Software requirements

Being a MCT  I have a TechNet subscription and I have downloaded the Developer edition from my account.

Before I show you how to install the product I would like to talk a bit about the various editions of SQL Server 2012.

There are 3 main editions of SQL Server 2012

  • Enterprise – Suitable for mission critical applications and data warehouses.All the features are included in this edition
  • Business Intelligence – This is a brand new edition.It provides things like Rapid Data Discovery with Power View and a new feature called Data Quality Services.
  • Standard – This is the basic edition and provides database,reporting and analytics capabilities.

If you want to check what features are supported by the various editions of SQL Server 2012 have a look at this msdn article.

There are also some special edition

  • Web – This is basically the Standard edition.It is targeted towards serving data from websites,hosted websites.ISPs should definitely look to purchase licenses for this edition
  • Developer – This has all the features of the Enterprise edition but it is only for demo purposes and development environment
  • Express – This is a free edition and has only database engine features .There are some limitations of course.Each database has a maximum database size of 10 GB and the maximum memory utilised is 1 GB.

Obviously at some point the licensing issue will come up.Have a look here if you are interested.

Another important thing to note is that SQL Server 2012 is available in both 32 and 64 bit versions.

The SQL Server 2012 installation process is pretty similar with the one of SQL Server 2008.One notable difference is that BUILTIN\administrators and Local System (NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM) are not automatically provisioned in the sysadmin fixed server role.

Let’s install SQL Server 2012, now.

Installation Steps

1) I run the SQL Server installer by starting SETUP.EXE

2) The SQL Server Installation Center will now display

3) Then I click on Installation

4) Then I click on New SQL Server stand-alone installation or add features to an existing installation

Have a look at the picture below


5)  The Setup Support Rules dialog displays.If there are any failures they must be corrected.In my case there none.Then I click OK

Have a look at the picture below

6) The next screen appears, the Product Updates screen. Then I click Next since there are no updates.

Have a look at the picture below

7) On the Setup Support Rules screen I have a look in the detailed report and I make a note of the warning.Problems that might occur in this stage must be corrected.

Have a look at the picture below


8) Then I click Next.On the Installation Type, Ι select Perform a new installation of SQL Server 2012. Notice that there is already a default instance of SQL Server installed.The default instance is SQL Server 2008 R2 Developer Edition. Τhere is also an instance of SQL Server 2008 R2 Express Edition and another instance of SQL Server 2012 Developer edition.You can have all these instances installed in one machine without any problem.

Have a look at the picture below

9) Then I click Next.On the Product Key screen, in my case there is already the product key.In your case you will have to type it in or select Specify a Free Edition (this will install SQL Server 2012 180 day evaluation copy)

Have a look at the picture below

10) Then I click Next. On the License Terms Page, Ι click I accept the license terms.

Have a look at the picture below


11) Τhen I Click Next.  On the Setup Role screen, click SQL Server Feature Installation and then I click Next. Have a look at the picture below

12) On the Feature Selection screen, I review the features I would like to install. When installing the Enterprise edition of SQL Server you see that there are many components that you could install.If you do not need to install SQL Server Analysis Services, SQL Server Integration Services,SQL Reporting Services then do not.Try (if this is an option for you) not to install SQL Server Reporting Services on the same server as the database engine. IIS and web services bring a lot of vulnerabilities to SQL Server.I have selected
· Database Engine Services
· SQL Server Replication
· Data Quality Services

Have a look at the picture below

13) Then I click the Next button.On the Installation Rules screen, click Next.

14) In the Instance Configuration screen I specify a named instance  “SQL2012Main” as the name.

Have a look at the picture below

15) Then I click Next. On the Disk Space Requirements screen, click Next.

16) In the Server Configuration screen Ι will configure the service accounts for the SQL Server instance. I can choose the security account the service will run and whether the service will start automatically or not.I will leave the defaults but you can choose whatever suits your needs.You can also set the collation for the server instance. In my case is Greek_CI-AS . You can change the collation of the server after the installation and you can set the collation at the database level.

Ηave a look at the picture below

17) Then I click Next. In the Database Engine Configuration screen, the authentication mode is set to Windows Authentication. Then I need to specify SQL Server Administrators Accounts and I click the Add Current User button.You can also have a look at the Data Directories tab.As we know it is a good practice to separate data files from log files but I will leave the default Data Directories.Have a look at the FILESTREAM tab.The Filestream option can be enabled at the point of installation, but can also be configured post installation. FILESTREAM enables SQL Server-based applications to store unstructured data, such as documents and images on the file system.

Have a look at the picture below

18) Then I click Next.In the Error Reporting screen, click Next.

19) In the Installation Configuration Rules screen, I click Next.In the Ready to Install screen, I did review the Installation Summary page.

Also I reviewed the configuration file path, which indicates the configuration.ini file used.

Have a look at the picture below

20) Then I click the Install button.Then installer will now install the SQL Server binaries.When the installation completes the Complete screen will appear.

Then I need to close the installer window and finally close the SQL Server Installation Center.

Installing SQL Server is a very straight-forward, smooth process and you will have no problem completing it.

Hope it helps!!!!

Comments»

1. Dot Net Rules : Ιnstalling a named instance of SQL Server 2012 - July 14, 2012

[...] idea to write a post like that since a lot of people install the latest version of SQL Server. (read more) Share Posted: Σάββατο, 14 Ιουλίου 2012 4:47 μμ από το μέλος [...]

2. facegreece.com - December 23, 2012

I am in fact grateful to the owner of this web page who has shared this fantastic piece of writing at here.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,786 other followers

